Have I mentioned yet that I love Mexican food?! It’s pretty popular here in Oklahoma, there seems to be Mexican restaurants on every corner. I definitely enjoy the occasional meal out, but I find myself being tempted way too much by all of the chips and salsa, and tortillas being shoved into my face! So I’ve been trying to come up with new recipes that will satisfy my hankering for Mexican food, all while staying low-carb. So Cheesy Chicken and Chorizo Bake is born!

  • 2-3 chicken breasts
  • 1 pound of chorizo
  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes and green chiles, drained
  • 1 cup of Mexican cheese blend
  • 1/2 cup of heavy cream
  • 1 handful of cilantro, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Brown chicken in olive oil, then shred, and set aside in a 13×9 inch baking dish. In your skillet, add the bell peppers and onions. Sauté until onions are caramelized. Add the peppers and onions to the chicken in the baking dish. Brown the chorizo, drain the grease, and add it to the baking dish as well. In a skillet, over medium heat, start to warm the diced tomatoes and green chiles. When most of the liquid has evaporated, add in the heavy cream and half of the cilantro. Bring to a simmer, then remove from heat. Pour the mixture on top of the other ingredients in your baking dish, and mix. Top with the shredded cheese. Bake for 20 minutes. Top with the other half of the cilantro, and serve.

 

img_0769

Mixture of chicken, chorizo, peppers, and onions.

img_0768

Diced tomatoes, green chiles, heavy cream, and cilantro simmering.

img_0771

My favorite part, smothering dishes in cheese!

img_0774

Tasty!!! 😍

